Types of Trusts

There are two main types of Trusts namely:

  • Testamentary Trust (trust mortis causa);
  • Inter Vivos Trust (trust created during the lifetime of the founder)

A Inter Vivos Trust can further be subdivided into:

  • Discretionary Inter Vivos Trust - The Trustees have in their absolute discretion the right to decide how the income and capital of the Trust.
  • Non-discretionary Inter Vivos Trust - The Founder decides precisely what the beneficiary is entitled to.
Louwrens Koen Attorneys

Louwrens Koen Attorneys, Conveyancers and Notaries have a modern outlook on life and have modern solutions for today's problems and needs without compromising on traditional values. Louwrens Koen was admitted as an Attorney in 1995. He is also an admitted Conveyancer, Notary Public and University Guest Lecturer.